NOSCAs 2019: Shortlisted Announced

The judges for the Norfolk Safer Community Awards (NOSCAs) 2019 have now shortlisted the nominations for each of the award categories.

The panel consisted of:

  • Chief Constable Simon Bailey
  • Mr. Mark Stokes – Office of the Police & Crime Commissioner
  • Chief Superintendent Julie Wvendth – Superintendents’ Association
  • Mrs. Rachel Evans  –  Head of Learning & Development, Norfolk and Suffolk Constabularies
  • Mrs. Julie Inns – UNISON
  • Inspector Sam Hawkins – Norfolk Police Federation
  • T/Inspector Kerry Woodbine – Staff Officer to Chief Constable Simon Bailey

Readers of the Eastern Daily Press voted for the two Community Officer of the Year awards.

The four other categories that members of the public submitted nominations for were The John (Cecil) Mason Volunteer of the Year, Young Citizen(s) of the Year, Community Citizen(s) of the Year and Police Dog of the Year.

Chief Constable Simon Bailey would like to thank everybody who took the time to nominate people for the 2019 Norfolk Safer Community Awards.

Chief Constable Simon Bailey praised the awards saying: “In a year where the complexities of policing have been acknowledged, it makes me extremely proud that we have still been able to work successfully with our communities and deliver a service they expect and deserve.

“I am always keen to recognise people who go that extra mile with their professionalism and integrity – not just our officers and staff but members of our community and our valued volunteers.

“Yet again, it’s also pleasing to see communities having their say through the public votes.”

Judges were impressed with the number of entries and the high standard presented and have now shortlisted in each category.  All those shortlisted will be invited to the Norfolk Safer Community Awards presentation evening which takes place at Holiday Inn North, Cromer Road, Norwich on Thursday 10 October.

Those shortlisted in each category are:

Community Citizen(s) of the Year
Clare Lincoln
Arnie McConnell

The John (Cecil) Mason Volunteer of the Year
Force Historians
Frederick Parry

Young Citizen(s) of the Year
Jacob Hanton
Thomas Lynn

Police Cadet of the Year
Police Cadet Jordan Cutter
Police Cadet Tegan-Leigh Humphrey

Student Officer of the Year
PC 149 Hathaichanok Sampao
PC 419 George Smith

Community Officer of the Year – Special Officer
S/Sgt 7083 Bill Grint
S/Insp 7901 Andrew Nederpel

Community Officer of the Year – Police Officer
PC 553 Edward Arbuthnot
PC 820 James Marrison

Investigator of the Year
T/DC 1075 Carl Carter
PC 648 Andrew Elvin

Problem Solver of the Year
Insp 4057 Paul McCarthy and PC 228 Dan Potter
Guy Slade

Police Staff Member of the Year
Dawn Clarke
Jane Munro

The Peter Garland Special Recognition Award
Chosen by the Chief Constable

The Hannah Witheridge Special Recognition Award – Individual/Team
Chosen by the Chief Constable

The Bravery Award
Chosen by the Chief Constable

Response Team of the Year
Team 5, Great Yarmouth
Team 2, North Norfolk